About Me

My photo
United States
So obviously this is my awesome blog, welcome! I hope you'll enjoy the little pieces of my life and brain I will be posting about. So kick up your feet laugh along and leave a comment or two :)

Saturday, October 15, 2011

I love going to the gym. I have been going all week and not going tonight feels kind of weird. I know I need to rest a while but I am past the point of being sore and tired. I feel much better having a way to channel my energy. And most importantly I am creating a better, healthier lifestyle. Of course I do care about losing weight but I care more about developing my body. I think next week I am going to push myself on my cardio. That is my weakest point right now so I am setting a goal for next week and try and set a new goal each week. I will let you know how it goes!

So my friend Brandon is moving to Charlotte this week. I hope he likes it here. It will be good to have another friend around and I am excited to meet his boyfriend. Him moving here has had me thinking about where I actually want to move. I don't hate it here but I don't really like it either. There isn't much to do unless you like to party and I don't. Any everything closes way too damn early! I guess I need to explore more of what is around or travel move to find the place where I really want to be. But I have time and that's all I need right now.

Thanks for listening (or reading rather) my ramblings.

Thursday, October 13, 2011

UPDATES AND SUCH

Again, I'm sorry I suck at updating.

Any who, I am back on the sales floor at work. It sucks but my sales are actually going pretty well. I hope I didn't just jinx myself! But with my sales up I am hoping I can get a bonus b/c Sam and I have decided to get her a newer car and extra money we have is going to that. I have decided that she should have one of the new beetles so I can't wait :)

Sam and I have also joined a gym recently. We had been trying to find a place for a while but no where we looked at all that we wanted. But we went to find out about planet fitness and pretty much fell in love! It is so awesome! We went twice last week and so far have gone three times this week. I can feel myself getting stronger and I love it. I still have a way to go with my cardio but my strength has definitely come a long way in the short time we have been doing. We have also had a couple others sign up to because it is such an awesome place and its cheap!

Again I am going to try and keep up with this blog. I enjoy blogging but its hard to think about what to write about sometimes and I feel like I haven't had time to be at home much let alone blog but my awesome cousin Michael just started a blog as well so maybe we can keep each other going. You should also check out his blog and show some support and love because he is great! Here is his link: http://tawmas-randomthoughts.blogspot.com/

And now its time to take over SIMS 3 from Sam =)

Saturday, September 17, 2011

I know I know

I truly suck at updating but oh well. What are you going to do?

Anyway, I am heading into my fourth day of my eight day marathon at work. I haven't had too many hiccups yet. There have been updates going on to the phones so things at work have been ridiculous. But after tomorrow I will be half way down! Yay! But my last four days are ten hour days. I have not worked a ten hour day in a LONG time! I am hoping they will pass by faster. Plus I will be working the early shift so I will be able to see more of my friends from class.

This is a puny post I know but I am sleepy a heading to bed.

Goodnight all!

Friday, September 2, 2011

You're so vain, you probably think this post is about you

Why is it so hard to be the bigger person? Or better yet, why do I care what some people think? I am still waiting for the day that I will be able to focus primarily on what I want and realize what I have going for me and not let the fact that I do not live up to someone else's standards bother me. But that day seems so far away. Will I ever make it? I am very grateful for my family, generally they do (or use to do) a lot for me. But just like everyone else they have flaws. I can't wait for them to realize this. Or maybe I am the problem. Just because I did not finish school am I really that much of a loser? I know they may not think that but that is what they project on to me. I hate that I cannot have a conversation without bickering or without the dreaded "well if you would stop messing around and go back to school..." I don't think they realize that I want to go back to school more than they want me to go back to school but it is just not possible right now. Plus, not to be mean, but honestly right now I have more going for me and make more money that my friends who have gone to school. So is it so bad that I didn't go the route that society has place in front of everyone? Especially with the economy being the way it is now I keep hearing that experience trumps schooling and doing college and beyond is honestly a waste of money. So what is so bad about keeping my full time, way above minimum wage job and saving money until it is a better time for me to go back to school? I just want to be able to please them without compromising what I want. Maybe one day...

On the bright side I am now the proud owner of a Volvo :)

Monday, August 22, 2011

Dilemma!

So work is offering over time to be on the phone. I kind of want to do it just for the extra money. But when I run the numbers I would have to work 16 hours before I made a little over $200. I know that isn't bad but to honest I am not sure it is worth it. Sure $200 is a good amount of money especially for me right now but being on the phone means I would have to go back to dealing directly with customers and honestly I don't want to haha. Of course not all customers are bad but 9/10 seem to be ridiculous! Maybe it is because of my job. But it doesn't take a rocket scientist to figure out insurance. Pay attention for a whole 5 minutes and I can explain the basics. But no one wants to listen. See I am getting aggregated just thinking about it lol.

I am going to skip the over time. But I have a better idea. For every hour I was going to do over time I am going to do some type of activity. So I will still get up at the same time but maybe take the dogs for a walk instead...hrmm I think this is a good alternative. What do you think? Good idea or no?

Friday, August 19, 2011

What is that light down there?

So hopefully our car troubles are over with. The tempo, although slower than dial up internet in the 90s, is running good. I am buying a volvo from Maddy and Ricky and in exchange for my truck, R.I.P Adien, the Altima will also be fixed. So the plan is to let Jamie borrow the tempo until he gets a car. And when Sam and I are able to buy another car we are going to sell the tempo. It shouldn't be hard because it is in really great condition and has only 30,000 miles. But we will see how all of that goes. I have my fingers crossed that this will be the last time that car troubles will cause such a major disturbance.

Tuesday, August 16, 2011

My apologies

I know, I know. I have been really slack about updating this as often as before and honestly as often as I would like. So this is my promise to myself and my faithful (all three of you) readers that I will do my best to post more.


Sunday, August 7, 2011

Energy

So I have found that here recently I feel like I have an overload of energy and it sucks. I don't like going to the gym because it is boring but being out in the heat is almost unbearable most days. Sam and I have been having car trouble again and it is driving me crazy. Things have been taken care of now so hopefully I can start going for a walk or something after work when it is cooler than the day time. I also want to do sport like things. Maybe basketball, soccer, something along those lines but Sam and I have been working different schedules and idk who else would be interested...bleh. Maybe I will try and teach Socks to fetch more than just from one side of the apartment to the other. Any one have any other ideas?

Saturday, July 30, 2011

So, I haven't done one of these in a while

Question: If life is so short, why do we do so many things we don’t like and like so many things we don’t do?

So this one is tough and easy at the same time. I think part of it is because the way society is set up we have to do things we do not like. Whether that is working a job we don't like, living in a situation we are upset with or not being able to do things we want. My generation has always been told that the "right" thing to do is to go through high school, go to college and become something like a doctor or lawyer or something along those lines. But the truth is school isn't for everyone and not everyone wants to go straight from school to work. But if you take a break most of the time you are looked down upon and that is really unfair. If youth is wasted on the young why do we, as a society, put down the younger generation just because we don't fall into this notion of right and wrong with life. So what if I would rather backpack across another country or would rather spend time helping someone else? Just because someone does not have a diploma or degree or don't have a "good" job doesn't mean they are less of a person. So I think part of the reason is because we care about how people will view them as a person.

I also think that a lot of people do not have a choice. If you are a single parent you have no choice but to work hard all day everyday and give all you can to your kid. I wish things were different. I hate that we have to jump through so many hoops to get to the job that we want and I don't think it is really fair to people who do not have the same resources as some others.

Or many people do not realize how short life can be sometimes. But whatever the reason I hope you get to do all of the things you want to do with your life and I hope you are happy in all of your decisions =]

Wednesday, July 27, 2011

Slow much

Ughhh! My system is just playing with me today.  Everyone's system updates at different times and I think mine took the day off or is chilling with the slow kids today. By the time I see a new request it has already been filled! But I am hoping that once people start to leave I will have a netter chance.

Ever hear of a band called Starfucker? They just came on Pandora and I like it :-)

In other news, Anna is moving in a little over a week and I am so excited! Its going to be mi e to have a friend close by again.

Oh and in case you were wondering, the PCJ Taco Party was awesome! By far the best taco party we have ever had. I can't wait to have those fools over again.

And last but not least I am also excited to go camping with Cody and Linda :-)

Wednesday, July 20, 2011

So Meg, how was your first day off in a week?

It was great!

Not only did I get to sleep in but Anna came over and made sushi with Sam and me (kinda). It was awesome sushi as well! My roll was stuffed way too big but was amazing! I cannot wait to do that again.

 The taco party is only three days away and I am super excited!

Yes this is all I have to say today =P

Sunday, July 17, 2011

Ho hum

I really had not realized it had been so long since I had updated. I feel like I have been going nonstop for the past month. I am half way through working six days in a row again. I have promised myself that I am not doing this again for a while if possible. I switch with Drum so he will have time with his daughters but since it is summer hopefully he is getting to see them throughout the week.

But there is a lot to look forward to the next couple of weeks. Anna is coming over to do sushi with Sam on Wednesday. Our kitchen is small so I am planning to just reap the rewards of the sushi making :) I am super excited to be hanging out with Anna outside of her black uniform as well haha.

This weekend Sam and I had planed on going to Raleigh but I don't think that is going to happen, unfortunately. But maybe I can make the best and plan something awesome for Sam instead :)

And next weekend is the newly formed PCJ taco party. I am uber excited about this as well. I absolutely love (most of) the staff of PCJ and I can only imagine what will happen when all of them come together. I am very thankful that I do not have to work until 5 the next day haha.

But I just found Nanny 911 on Netflix so I am out!

Wednesday, July 13, 2011

New food!

Sam's coworker bought lunch today at a new Greek place. So, because I was starving and one of my goals is to try new food I pretty much had to go for it. Sam had ordered some type of lemon chicken on a stick with pita bread and that was amazing. But Jason had ordered some type of something wrapped in grape leaves (no one had any idea what was in the middle)  The grape leaves themselves were actually pretty terrific. The middle portion, however, was a mushy mess. I seriously contemplated spitting it back out immediately, but I had to keep a straight face so Sam would try it. But in the end, although I was not a fan of everything I tasted I am glad I stepped out of my box a little bit and tried something completely foreign to me and I encourage you to do the same!

Seriously though, what is the worst food you have ever tried? The best?

Monday, July 11, 2011

Books books books

Happy birthday to my wonderful mother!

I am glad that the July birthdays are almost over. July is such a hectic time for my family and between that and work I feel like I have been going nonstop for a good two weeks or so. Whew, time to breathe!

So, I finished the Hunger Game series. It was good. Things turned out the way I thought they would but overall it was good. There were good twists and turns here and there so I would recommend it to others (so go read them!)

So I am three books closer to my 50 book goal! I am right at the end of a book called Inventing Elliot. It has a good plot and so far I feel that it is a good book for middle school to high school range but there have been a lot of typos and to be honest I am not sure that the company had an editor at all! I have no idea what I am going to read next though. I picked up a couple of good picks last time I was at the book store so I am excited for whatever I choose. But I will keep you updated.  Has anyone else read any good books recently? Or at all?

Thursday, July 7, 2011

Back to work tomorrow

I know, I know. I suck because I haven't posted in a while. I really feel like I have been going nonstop since my birthday.  Apparently I am finally old enough to light the big fireworks as of this year haha. That was a blast! I ended up with some great lego sets from my birthday and they are all put together already :) Since I am such a great builder (aka I put everything together within an hour of getting it) I have decided that I need a couple minor hobbies as well. I have taken up coloring, word searches and occasionally Sodoku. That should be plenty for now.

So Sam and I went to look at apartments today. Oh man! We have been missing out! We have been playing with the idea of getting a two bedroom and we looked at the ones in our complex but to move apartments its just like starting all over again and we weren't impressed with the set up here. So we toured a couple other places and fell in love...unfortunately! The first place is just amazing. It is a townhouse (I have always wanted to live in a townhouse!) and it is everything we are looking for. It has a lot of space, a sweet set up, and are pretty free with what we can do with the apartment. But, isn't there always a but, they are kind of strict with the breeds of dogs. I understand because of the insurance and all but they require vet records for everything! The second place we saw was brand spanking new! It wasn't a townhouse but it was over 1000 sq ft and was set up like a house. It was great! The catch? They do not allow animals at all. BLEG! So for now we are going to stay were we are and be happy. But sleep with one eye open if you know what I mean :)

Saturday, July 2, 2011

My awesome day

So as I am sure you have guessed I had an awesome day! Taylor came over and we all went to the mall. Everyone got something but I definitely got the best things of all! Sam bought me a lego model of the Solomon museum, a surprise lego guy and a sweet key chain! Taylor bought me a super awesome lego storm trooper key chain :-) we also went to see Super 8 again...it was even funnier the second time around.

Sam is coming to dinner with the family tomorrow and I am super excited about that as well :-) I am less than 20 minutes away from my birthday and I am already having an awesome day :-)

Wednesday, June 29, 2011

Question five

Tonight's question is...Decisions are being made right now.  The question is:  Are you making them for yourself, or are you letting others make them for you?

So this is a semi-tough question. There are basic decisions I am making for myself and others are making some for me. Well not so much making decisions for me as much as directing me a bit. To be honest I am starting to become a little burned out at work. At this point I am about ready to make a change. I would love to be able to pick up and move. But I have a couple people at work who have told me that a lot of people are looking at me for promotion. So of course, with that over my head it is giving me a reason to stay. Otherwise I would probably already be looking for a new place. I don't want to put a limit on things but I really want to have something in motion by the time I finish my first year of school. I don't know if I am asking too much. But that will also be my two year mark and I feel that if they are looking at me now and I can make myself stand out in some way then almost a year should be plenty of time to make a deal or break away. And I hate to say that because I know it is a good company but I just feel stagnant right now.

Maybe it isn't just my job. I am really hoping that I can get into a hobby or two and I want to try and take more trips and do more activities. The rafting center is in Charlotte so I am going to try and lose a little more weight so I can start doing that. They have a lot of awesome things to do like rafting (duh) rock climbing zip lines and things of that nature. And all of that sounds like more than enough to keep me busy.

But on a happier note I have officially completed my one week without tv. It was surprisingly easy so from now on I will probably keep the tv off more often =]

Monday, June 27, 2011

Productive day...kinda

So Sam gave blood for the first time today! YAY! I was so proud. I also gave blood but I have been giving blood at least once a year since I was in high school so it isn't a big deal. But Sam has always been to scared to give but somehow (and idk how exactly or I would be harnessing this power) I talked her into going with me today. She seemed a little nervous at first and then all the nurses made fun of her wonky veins but she did it!

But with the good there is bad. Something happened to my truck (I know, big surprise). David picked it up and hopefully will have the problem figured out soon. I am already expecting the worst news though. But no amount of worrying will be able to fix anything.

I also think I robbed Books-A-Million today. Not in a literal sense but I walked out with 6 books for under $20! I am excited about all of them but mostly about a hobby book I bought. It lists 101 of the most common hobbies and gives you tips, history, and sometimes a small entry from someone who is deep in the world of that hobby. It is going to be a great reference book when I seriously start searching for a hobby. Just glancing through I have a few things at the top of my list such as ant farming, lego building, and dumpster diving! Haha the dumpster diving is actually illegal in NC but there is this site called Freecycle where people will post something they are going to get rid of and the first person to respond get to have that item. In theory it should be awesome so I cannot wait to look more into it.

But that is all for now!

Saturday, June 25, 2011

Ha-ha

So Sam, for whatever reason, has decided she needs a new laugh. So instead of laughing normal she is trying to actually say "haha" over and over again. Which makes things stupid funny. Idk what the point is, I just thought I would share. Hopefully the thought of this absurdity will give you a chuckle :-)

Thursday, June 23, 2011

One can't complain. I have my friends. Someone spoke to me only yesterday. - Eeyore

The question today is: Have you ever been with someone, said nothing, and walked away feeling like you just had the best conversation ever?

There have been only a couple people I have really experienced this with. The first is Zack. We have always had a weird kind of relationship. It may be because we are both so laid back but it probably has more to do with the fact that we are both better at listening that actually talking. So when we get together of course we talk a bit but we are also not scared of silence like a lot of my other friends tend to be. I find it really soothing to be able to be around with Zack, enjoying each other and not feeling like I have to entertain him every second that he is around. This was more so the case when we lived next door and saw each other almost every day.

The other person I have experienced this with, although not to the same extend, is Jaimie. She and I tend to think on the same plane a lot of the time and that makes it easier to enjoy the nonconversation conversations.

I really miss having the two of them in my life especially to the same extend as when we were in the height of our relationships. Maybe this is a sign that I really should move to Raleigh haha. I like where I live now and I like my job most days but I do miss having friends. Everyone that I am friends with now is a work friend and that isn't working. I want to have real friends again. I have Sam but that is different and I still find myself lonely a lot.

I also have a craving for Sarah B-N in my life. For the same and for entirely different reasons. Sarah is more like the friend that I see like once a year, we stay up all night catching up and then we are gone for another year. Obviously this is a gross over exaggeration but you get the point.

So basically I guess what I am saying is that I miss you Zack, Jaimie, and Sarah.

Tuesday, June 21, 2011

Book one

So one of my goals is to read 50 new books. I am very excited about this goal because even though I tend to read a lot it seems to be the same few books time and time again. But anyway, I am not counting my kindle books in this challenge because I feel like the kindle books are too short, for whatever reason. So I finished my first book a couple days ago, The Hunger Games. I liked it okay. I can understand where younger people would like it. I don't know, maybe I am just becoming old and grumpy because I was not fond of the love story attached to the book. It was too fake and the main character seems to be too oblivious to some things for my liking. But I am almost half way through the second one. Since I am also taking this week to not watch tv hopefully I will be done with the second book in the next day or so. Has anyone else read this book or series?

Sunday, June 19, 2011

Question three

Tonight's question: If you had to move to a state or country besides the one you currently live in, where would you move and why?

As for a new state I would more than likely pick Georgia. I really had a great time in Atlanta. I am thinking that living right outside of the city (much like I do now) would be perfect. I would be close enough to justify a season pass to the Braves (woohoo!) and Atlanta has such awesome attractions, a great atmosphere, and there is always something to do.

As for a new country I am not sure where I would settle down but I would probably start out in Sydney for the sole reason that Matt is there and I feel like it would be easier to adjust knowing at least one person. But I would really have to travel around a find a place that I would want to settle.

And that is my answer :)

Where would you go?

Saturday, June 18, 2011

Quickie!

Sorry for the delay. I am going to keep up with this blog, I promise! I have been caught up reading the first book of the Hunger Games. Although it was predictable at times I definitely enjoyed it! I had been wanting to read it for a while but thanks to the greatest aunt and best English teacher in the world I finally got my chance! I just wish I could get a piece of the money pie she offered Jake to read them! Then again at $25 a book I would feel like I was robbing her...but I'm sure I could get over it :-p

So my ankle finally feels better! After waking up yesterday morning I was really scared that I had broken it. I woke up to the throbbing and shooting pains and wanted to scream. But I got up, took some medicine and after a couple hours it was feeling a little better. But when I woke up today it was feeling better and tonight I even ventured to walk without the crutches! I do hate that it happened this way though. Even though I will have six days off from work I have been stuck on the couch or bed resting the whole time! It is so unfair! But hopefully I will be able to work something out and be able to take a weekend trip soon.

But I am off to start the second book! Thanks for reading =)

Thursday, June 16, 2011

Question two

What’s something you know you do differently than most people?

Apparently the way that I think is quite different from everyone else. There are a lot of things that are common sense to me that seems like a foreign language to the typical person. Maybe it is just me? But am I wrong to think that someone should not be having casual sex? Is it wrong to think that someone should have goals for their life (more than just get a job, have kids, and be happy)? Any why does everyone feel entitled? If you have not earned it then guess what YOU DON'T DESERVE IT! It really scares me to not only see how irresponsible kids are today but how they feel that just because they went to school they deserve more than a job working at McDonald's. To be honest though it is not all of their fault. We have been told our entire lives that we can do whatever we want but we are hardly ever told about the hard work that has to be put into it. We praise people who are just naturally good at things and we are told that if we reach a certain educational level we will be better than everyone else. But really spending another 4 years in college after high school seems to just keep people under the wing of not facing the real world. They graduate expecting to find a great job, buy a house, meet the perfect person (if they haven't already) and have a great life. But the truth is, especially in this day and age a degree means very little when it comes to experience. So when that perfect job doesn't immediately come along (and please, after getting this awesome degree in political science I am way over working at Subway) they move back in with their parents and do nothing. Actually I take that back. he/she will be awesome at surfing the web, spending their parent's money, eating their parent's food and waiting for their life to fall in place. DOES THIS NOT BUG ANYONE ELSE? Seriously, you are in your 20s GROW UP ALREADY! I am not saying to rush out and get yourself in debt but at least do something. If you cannot find a job, then volunteer. That will not only make your resume more impressive but it will give you something to do and possibly give you an insight into what you want to do with your life. I know this is just a stupid rant that I probably shouldn't have posted because a couple of my friends are in this position but truth is truth. Get off your lazy ass and do something with your life!

Wednesday, June 15, 2011

First post!

So, I am going to actually keep up with this blog haha. It will probably just be my ranting and random thoughts. But I am going to start with posting one of the 50 questions that will free your mind so here goes:


  1. Which is worse, failing or never trying?
I would have to say that never trying is much worse that failing. If you never try then you will never know what you are capable of doing. If you fail then you have found one way not to achieve that goal and have another chance to try a different way. Never be afraid to try, and don't just half ass something, give it everything you have, otherwise you are just shorting yourself of what you can actually do with yourself.

Good luck everyone and have a great night :)