About Me

My photo
United States
So obviously this is my awesome blog, welcome! I hope you'll enjoy the little pieces of my life and brain I will be posting about. So kick up your feet laugh along and leave a comment or two :)

Saturday, July 30, 2011

So, I haven't done one of these in a while

Question: If life is so short, why do we do so many things we don’t like and like so many things we don’t do?

So this one is tough and easy at the same time. I think part of it is because the way society is set up we have to do things we do not like. Whether that is working a job we don't like, living in a situation we are upset with or not being able to do things we want. My generation has always been told that the "right" thing to do is to go through high school, go to college and become something like a doctor or lawyer or something along those lines. But the truth is school isn't for everyone and not everyone wants to go straight from school to work. But if you take a break most of the time you are looked down upon and that is really unfair. If youth is wasted on the young why do we, as a society, put down the younger generation just because we don't fall into this notion of right and wrong with life. So what if I would rather backpack across another country or would rather spend time helping someone else? Just because someone does not have a diploma or degree or don't have a "good" job doesn't mean they are less of a person. So I think part of the reason is because we care about how people will view them as a person.

I also think that a lot of people do not have a choice. If you are a single parent you have no choice but to work hard all day everyday and give all you can to your kid. I wish things were different. I hate that we have to jump through so many hoops to get to the job that we want and I don't think it is really fair to people who do not have the same resources as some others.

Or many people do not realize how short life can be sometimes. But whatever the reason I hope you get to do all of the things you want to do with your life and I hope you are happy in all of your decisions =]

Wednesday, July 27, 2011

Slow much

Ughhh! My system is just playing with me today.  Everyone's system updates at different times and I think mine took the day off or is chilling with the slow kids today. By the time I see a new request it has already been filled! But I am hoping that once people start to leave I will have a netter chance.

Ever hear of a band called Starfucker? They just came on Pandora and I like it :-)

In other news, Anna is moving in a little over a week and I am so excited! Its going to be mi e to have a friend close by again.

Oh and in case you were wondering, the PCJ Taco Party was awesome! By far the best taco party we have ever had. I can't wait to have those fools over again.

And last but not least I am also excited to go camping with Cody and Linda :-)

Wednesday, July 20, 2011

So Meg, how was your first day off in a week?

It was great!

Not only did I get to sleep in but Anna came over and made sushi with Sam and me (kinda). It was awesome sushi as well! My roll was stuffed way too big but was amazing! I cannot wait to do that again.

 The taco party is only three days away and I am super excited!

Yes this is all I have to say today =P

Sunday, July 17, 2011

Ho hum

I really had not realized it had been so long since I had updated. I feel like I have been going nonstop for the past month. I am half way through working six days in a row again. I have promised myself that I am not doing this again for a while if possible. I switch with Drum so he will have time with his daughters but since it is summer hopefully he is getting to see them throughout the week.

But there is a lot to look forward to the next couple of weeks. Anna is coming over to do sushi with Sam on Wednesday. Our kitchen is small so I am planning to just reap the rewards of the sushi making :) I am super excited to be hanging out with Anna outside of her black uniform as well haha.

This weekend Sam and I had planed on going to Raleigh but I don't think that is going to happen, unfortunately. But maybe I can make the best and plan something awesome for Sam instead :)

And next weekend is the newly formed PCJ taco party. I am uber excited about this as well. I absolutely love (most of) the staff of PCJ and I can only imagine what will happen when all of them come together. I am very thankful that I do not have to work until 5 the next day haha.

But I just found Nanny 911 on Netflix so I am out!

Wednesday, July 13, 2011

New food!

Sam's coworker bought lunch today at a new Greek place. So, because I was starving and one of my goals is to try new food I pretty much had to go for it. Sam had ordered some type of lemon chicken on a stick with pita bread and that was amazing. But Jason had ordered some type of something wrapped in grape leaves (no one had any idea what was in the middle)  The grape leaves themselves were actually pretty terrific. The middle portion, however, was a mushy mess. I seriously contemplated spitting it back out immediately, but I had to keep a straight face so Sam would try it. But in the end, although I was not a fan of everything I tasted I am glad I stepped out of my box a little bit and tried something completely foreign to me and I encourage you to do the same!

Seriously though, what is the worst food you have ever tried? The best?

Monday, July 11, 2011

Books books books

Happy birthday to my wonderful mother!

I am glad that the July birthdays are almost over. July is such a hectic time for my family and between that and work I feel like I have been going nonstop for a good two weeks or so. Whew, time to breathe!

So, I finished the Hunger Game series. It was good. Things turned out the way I thought they would but overall it was good. There were good twists and turns here and there so I would recommend it to others (so go read them!)

So I am three books closer to my 50 book goal! I am right at the end of a book called Inventing Elliot. It has a good plot and so far I feel that it is a good book for middle school to high school range but there have been a lot of typos and to be honest I am not sure that the company had an editor at all! I have no idea what I am going to read next though. I picked up a couple of good picks last time I was at the book store so I am excited for whatever I choose. But I will keep you updated.  Has anyone else read any good books recently? Or at all?

Thursday, July 7, 2011

Back to work tomorrow

I know, I know. I suck because I haven't posted in a while. I really feel like I have been going nonstop since my birthday.  Apparently I am finally old enough to light the big fireworks as of this year haha. That was a blast! I ended up with some great lego sets from my birthday and they are all put together already :) Since I am such a great builder (aka I put everything together within an hour of getting it) I have decided that I need a couple minor hobbies as well. I have taken up coloring, word searches and occasionally Sodoku. That should be plenty for now.

So Sam and I went to look at apartments today. Oh man! We have been missing out! We have been playing with the idea of getting a two bedroom and we looked at the ones in our complex but to move apartments its just like starting all over again and we weren't impressed with the set up here. So we toured a couple other places and fell in love...unfortunately! The first place is just amazing. It is a townhouse (I have always wanted to live in a townhouse!) and it is everything we are looking for. It has a lot of space, a sweet set up, and are pretty free with what we can do with the apartment. But, isn't there always a but, they are kind of strict with the breeds of dogs. I understand because of the insurance and all but they require vet records for everything! The second place we saw was brand spanking new! It wasn't a townhouse but it was over 1000 sq ft and was set up like a house. It was great! The catch? They do not allow animals at all. BLEG! So for now we are going to stay were we are and be happy. But sleep with one eye open if you know what I mean :)

Saturday, July 2, 2011

My awesome day

So as I am sure you have guessed I had an awesome day! Taylor came over and we all went to the mall. Everyone got something but I definitely got the best things of all! Sam bought me a lego model of the Solomon museum, a surprise lego guy and a sweet key chain! Taylor bought me a super awesome lego storm trooper key chain :-) we also went to see Super 8 again...it was even funnier the second time around.

Sam is coming to dinner with the family tomorrow and I am super excited about that as well :-) I am less than 20 minutes away from my birthday and I am already having an awesome day :-)