About Me

My photo
United States
So obviously this is my awesome blog, welcome! I hope you'll enjoy the little pieces of my life and brain I will be posting about. So kick up your feet laugh along and leave a comment or two :)

Wednesday, June 29, 2011

Question five

Tonight's question is...Decisions are being made right now.  The question is:  Are you making them for yourself, or are you letting others make them for you?

So this is a semi-tough question. There are basic decisions I am making for myself and others are making some for me. Well not so much making decisions for me as much as directing me a bit. To be honest I am starting to become a little burned out at work. At this point I am about ready to make a change. I would love to be able to pick up and move. But I have a couple people at work who have told me that a lot of people are looking at me for promotion. So of course, with that over my head it is giving me a reason to stay. Otherwise I would probably already be looking for a new place. I don't want to put a limit on things but I really want to have something in motion by the time I finish my first year of school. I don't know if I am asking too much. But that will also be my two year mark and I feel that if they are looking at me now and I can make myself stand out in some way then almost a year should be plenty of time to make a deal or break away. And I hate to say that because I know it is a good company but I just feel stagnant right now.

Maybe it isn't just my job. I am really hoping that I can get into a hobby or two and I want to try and take more trips and do more activities. The rafting center is in Charlotte so I am going to try and lose a little more weight so I can start doing that. They have a lot of awesome things to do like rafting (duh) rock climbing zip lines and things of that nature. And all of that sounds like more than enough to keep me busy.

But on a happier note I have officially completed my one week without tv. It was surprisingly easy so from now on I will probably keep the tv off more often =]

Monday, June 27, 2011

Productive day...kinda

So Sam gave blood for the first time today! YAY! I was so proud. I also gave blood but I have been giving blood at least once a year since I was in high school so it isn't a big deal. But Sam has always been to scared to give but somehow (and idk how exactly or I would be harnessing this power) I talked her into going with me today. She seemed a little nervous at first and then all the nurses made fun of her wonky veins but she did it!

But with the good there is bad. Something happened to my truck (I know, big surprise). David picked it up and hopefully will have the problem figured out soon. I am already expecting the worst news though. But no amount of worrying will be able to fix anything.

I also think I robbed Books-A-Million today. Not in a literal sense but I walked out with 6 books for under $20! I am excited about all of them but mostly about a hobby book I bought. It lists 101 of the most common hobbies and gives you tips, history, and sometimes a small entry from someone who is deep in the world of that hobby. It is going to be a great reference book when I seriously start searching for a hobby. Just glancing through I have a few things at the top of my list such as ant farming, lego building, and dumpster diving! Haha the dumpster diving is actually illegal in NC but there is this site called Freecycle where people will post something they are going to get rid of and the first person to respond get to have that item. In theory it should be awesome so I cannot wait to look more into it.

But that is all for now!

Saturday, June 25, 2011

Ha-ha

So Sam, for whatever reason, has decided she needs a new laugh. So instead of laughing normal she is trying to actually say "haha" over and over again. Which makes things stupid funny. Idk what the point is, I just thought I would share. Hopefully the thought of this absurdity will give you a chuckle :-)

Thursday, June 23, 2011

One can't complain. I have my friends. Someone spoke to me only yesterday. - Eeyore

The question today is: Have you ever been with someone, said nothing, and walked away feeling like you just had the best conversation ever?

There have been only a couple people I have really experienced this with. The first is Zack. We have always had a weird kind of relationship. It may be because we are both so laid back but it probably has more to do with the fact that we are both better at listening that actually talking. So when we get together of course we talk a bit but we are also not scared of silence like a lot of my other friends tend to be. I find it really soothing to be able to be around with Zack, enjoying each other and not feeling like I have to entertain him every second that he is around. This was more so the case when we lived next door and saw each other almost every day.

The other person I have experienced this with, although not to the same extend, is Jaimie. She and I tend to think on the same plane a lot of the time and that makes it easier to enjoy the nonconversation conversations.

I really miss having the two of them in my life especially to the same extend as when we were in the height of our relationships. Maybe this is a sign that I really should move to Raleigh haha. I like where I live now and I like my job most days but I do miss having friends. Everyone that I am friends with now is a work friend and that isn't working. I want to have real friends again. I have Sam but that is different and I still find myself lonely a lot.

I also have a craving for Sarah B-N in my life. For the same and for entirely different reasons. Sarah is more like the friend that I see like once a year, we stay up all night catching up and then we are gone for another year. Obviously this is a gross over exaggeration but you get the point.

So basically I guess what I am saying is that I miss you Zack, Jaimie, and Sarah.

Tuesday, June 21, 2011

Book one

So one of my goals is to read 50 new books. I am very excited about this goal because even though I tend to read a lot it seems to be the same few books time and time again. But anyway, I am not counting my kindle books in this challenge because I feel like the kindle books are too short, for whatever reason. So I finished my first book a couple days ago, The Hunger Games. I liked it okay. I can understand where younger people would like it. I don't know, maybe I am just becoming old and grumpy because I was not fond of the love story attached to the book. It was too fake and the main character seems to be too oblivious to some things for my liking. But I am almost half way through the second one. Since I am also taking this week to not watch tv hopefully I will be done with the second book in the next day or so. Has anyone else read this book or series?

Sunday, June 19, 2011

Question three

Tonight's question: If you had to move to a state or country besides the one you currently live in, where would you move and why?

As for a new state I would more than likely pick Georgia. I really had a great time in Atlanta. I am thinking that living right outside of the city (much like I do now) would be perfect. I would be close enough to justify a season pass to the Braves (woohoo!) and Atlanta has such awesome attractions, a great atmosphere, and there is always something to do.

As for a new country I am not sure where I would settle down but I would probably start out in Sydney for the sole reason that Matt is there and I feel like it would be easier to adjust knowing at least one person. But I would really have to travel around a find a place that I would want to settle.

And that is my answer :)

Where would you go?

Saturday, June 18, 2011

Quickie!

Sorry for the delay. I am going to keep up with this blog, I promise! I have been caught up reading the first book of the Hunger Games. Although it was predictable at times I definitely enjoyed it! I had been wanting to read it for a while but thanks to the greatest aunt and best English teacher in the world I finally got my chance! I just wish I could get a piece of the money pie she offered Jake to read them! Then again at $25 a book I would feel like I was robbing her...but I'm sure I could get over it :-p

So my ankle finally feels better! After waking up yesterday morning I was really scared that I had broken it. I woke up to the throbbing and shooting pains and wanted to scream. But I got up, took some medicine and after a couple hours it was feeling a little better. But when I woke up today it was feeling better and tonight I even ventured to walk without the crutches! I do hate that it happened this way though. Even though I will have six days off from work I have been stuck on the couch or bed resting the whole time! It is so unfair! But hopefully I will be able to work something out and be able to take a weekend trip soon.

But I am off to start the second book! Thanks for reading =)

Thursday, June 16, 2011

Question two

What’s something you know you do differently than most people?

Apparently the way that I think is quite different from everyone else. There are a lot of things that are common sense to me that seems like a foreign language to the typical person. Maybe it is just me? But am I wrong to think that someone should not be having casual sex? Is it wrong to think that someone should have goals for their life (more than just get a job, have kids, and be happy)? Any why does everyone feel entitled? If you have not earned it then guess what YOU DON'T DESERVE IT! It really scares me to not only see how irresponsible kids are today but how they feel that just because they went to school they deserve more than a job working at McDonald's. To be honest though it is not all of their fault. We have been told our entire lives that we can do whatever we want but we are hardly ever told about the hard work that has to be put into it. We praise people who are just naturally good at things and we are told that if we reach a certain educational level we will be better than everyone else. But really spending another 4 years in college after high school seems to just keep people under the wing of not facing the real world. They graduate expecting to find a great job, buy a house, meet the perfect person (if they haven't already) and have a great life. But the truth is, especially in this day and age a degree means very little when it comes to experience. So when that perfect job doesn't immediately come along (and please, after getting this awesome degree in political science I am way over working at Subway) they move back in with their parents and do nothing. Actually I take that back. he/she will be awesome at surfing the web, spending their parent's money, eating their parent's food and waiting for their life to fall in place. DOES THIS NOT BUG ANYONE ELSE? Seriously, you are in your 20s GROW UP ALREADY! I am not saying to rush out and get yourself in debt but at least do something. If you cannot find a job, then volunteer. That will not only make your resume more impressive but it will give you something to do and possibly give you an insight into what you want to do with your life. I know this is just a stupid rant that I probably shouldn't have posted because a couple of my friends are in this position but truth is truth. Get off your lazy ass and do something with your life!

Wednesday, June 15, 2011

First post!

So, I am going to actually keep up with this blog haha. It will probably just be my ranting and random thoughts. But I am going to start with posting one of the 50 questions that will free your mind so here goes:


  1. Which is worse, failing or never trying?
I would have to say that never trying is much worse that failing. If you never try then you will never know what you are capable of doing. If you fail then you have found one way not to achieve that goal and have another chance to try a different way. Never be afraid to try, and don't just half ass something, give it everything you have, otherwise you are just shorting yourself of what you can actually do with yourself.

Good luck everyone and have a great night :)